Holiday swag

Mom and Dad sent me money, along with some other gifts. ThisĀ  is my first purchase with holiday money. Can’t wait to dig in!

image

This entry was posted in Handspun by Bevin. Bookmark the permalink.

About Bevin

I grew up reading stories of all kinds, but the fantasy genre has long been a favorite. Whether it's knights and sorcerors, Jedis or Browncoats, I love them all. I wanted to find my own secret passage to Narnia, study with the Heralds of Valdemar, or become a member of the elven wolfrider pack. I'm sure it was no surprise to my parents that when I discovered there was a club at my college dedicated to medieval life, I'd join. They likely didn't expect that 15 years later, I am still an active member. I acquired the nickname "Bevin the SnarlingBadger" from a friend in the Society for Creative Anachronism, an international not-for-profit educational organization which focuses on studying aspects of medieval life through first-person, hands-on research and practice. Yes, for some that means strapping on armor & practicing combat. For others it means studying a particular culture and time period, developing a "slice of life" persona. For me it means exploring arts & sciences, dressing up in pretty gowns, hanging out with other people who enjoy doing things the "hard way." Outside of the SCA, I'm passionate about animal rights & pet nutrition (and I'm trying to convince myself to eat healthier too), I love movies, audiobooks, tv (Netflix and Hulu are frequent accompaniment for craft-time), crochet, handspinning... I've also been playing Star Wars: The Old Republic, since I was invited to participate in beta testing. I love the immersive quality of the game, and play primarily to watch the stories develop. So, this is a bit of me. There's more. Thanks for stopping by!

2 thoughts on “Holiday swag

    • I got it at my local, independent yarn store, Uniquities (Vienna, VA). I’ve sporadically read Jacey Boggs (author)’s blog for the past few years, and have loved her creative handspun yarns, so this was a no-brainer. I also want to get her DVD.

      Thanks for reading! I’m going to Uniquities monthly Spinning Open House this Saturday, so am looking forward to hanging out with other spinners and putting some yarn on my wheel. (:

Leave a Reply

